Skip to main content

The Crayon Set Set to Release their Highly Anticipated Brand-New Album ‘Downer Disco’

August 23, 2021

The Crayon Set is delighted to announce the release of their new album ‘Downer Disco’ out on 24th September. 

Dublin-based The Crayon Set specialise in hook-filled, alternative pop. ‘Downer Disco’ is their strongest album to date filled with their trademark expertly crafted pop songs & dual girl/boy vocal interplay – this time with added synth-pop & electronic goodness. It was recorded with producer Stephen Shannon at Experimental Audio in Dublin in 2019.

In advance of the album, The Crayon Set also presents a special rework of the current single ‘Summer Song’ by renowned producer and remixer Gui Boratto. Gui Boratto is a core member of the seminal Kompakt Label and is one of Brazil’s most cherished electronic music producers. His work over the years includes five studio albums, countless EPs, and remixes for the likes of Massive Attack, Pet Shop Boys, and Paul Simon to name a few.

To celebrate the launch of ‘Downer Disco’, The Crayon Set will play their first headline show in over 2 years at The Grand Social, Dublin on 7th October. Tickets are €9 (Students: €7) and are available at  Please note it is a limited capacity show and tickets need to be purchased in advance. More live dates are to be announced. 

‘Downer Disco’ was recorded with producer Stephen Shannon at Experimental Audio in Dublin in 2019. The release was put on hold due to Covid ’19. 

The album is available in limited edition neon-red vinyl which can be pre-ordered at QRates  and from The Crayon Set website

The release will be accompanied by a live version of the album filmed at the Theatre Royal in Waterford. 

Robert Baker said:  “We’re really pleased with the songs and the sound on the album and we can’t wait to release it. The album has a happy-sad dynamic going on – we’re always trying to write & record the perfect pop song but lyrically the songs couldn’t help but reflect the increasingly stressed-out, messed-up world we breathe in every day. 

So that’s where the album title came from – the idea of sad bangers, melody with melancholy, downer disco. In terms of the disco thing, it is a bit tongue-in-cheek but we did incorporate more electronic elements and we wanted to get people dancing more.

With the help of our producer Stephen Shannon, we focused more on mood and groove. Our previous album ‘Lost Languages’ was more folk-rock and acoustic, so it was probably a reaction to that.” 


  1. Don’t Step Back Too Far
  2. Summer Song 
  3. Out of your Mind  
  4. Flames 
  5. Boring 
  6. Rock Star // Dream Girl 
  7. Moment 
  8. Not the End of the World 
  9. Miss You in My Dreams 

Bonus Track:  Summer Song (Gui Boratto Rework) 




Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram |  

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login