Skip to main content

modernlove. Release ‘Islands’, Announce New EP ‘Oh My Mind’ and Debut Headline Tour

May 17, 2022

After a flurry of praise for their recent singles ‘Don’t Wanna’, ‘Us’ and their Valentine’s Day delight ‘Follow You’ earlier this year, which have since found support from countless tastemakers including Wonderland, Hot Press, Official Charts, Under The Radar and many more, Irish indie-pop-rockers modernlove. have now announced the details of their eagerly-awaited new EP ‘Oh My Mind’, which arrives on July 29th through Akira Records (Phoria, Henry Green, Mt. Wolf, Rosie Carney, Shura), alongside the heartfelt new effort ‘Islands’.

Featuring all of their singles so far in 2022, the seven-track sophomore collection sees the band continue their pursuit of bright and vibrant pop-rock textures that have seen them go from strength to strength these last few years. The latest offering ‘Islands’ cements that captivating benchmark within their catalogue to date, and makes for the ideal companion track to introduce their newest EP.

Adding about the new single, they said, “Islands is a classic coming of age story. Trying to cope with the fallout of a family coming apart due to divorce and one’s own romantic relationship coming to an end at the same time. It tells the story of both, blurring them into one at times.

“The song is about the distances between people in their relationships and how for some, it seems too impossible a task to even try to bridge those gaps. 

These people are made into “islands” by the oceans they must travel each day to meet and see each other eye to eye.

“The song explores ways people try to deal with this struggle and this loneliness whether it be drink, drugs or sex but in the end it recognises that they are simply in a painful situation that they must accept and let happen as the song ends with the repeated words: “It’s coming apart and I can’t face it, I don’t wanna break down but I can’t take it”.

modernlove. will also be embarking on their first UK and Ireland tour in November later this year. Tickets are available to buy now and see the full list of dates below.


modernlove. 2022 UK & Ireland Tour Dates:



2 – Birmingham – Hare & Hounds

3 – Manchester – The Castle Hotel

4 – Glasgow – The Garage (Attic Bar)

9 – Bristol – The Louisiana

10 – London – Camden Assembly

11 – Leeds – Hyde Park Book Club



12 – Belfast, The Deer’s Head

13 – Derry, Sandino’s

17 – Listowel, Mike The Pies

18 – Limerick, Kasbah Social Club

19 – Cork, Winthrop Avenue

24 – Galway, Roisin Dubh

25 – Dublin, Button Factory


‘Oh My Mind’ follows on from their debut EP ‘monochrome blue’, which was released in September 2021, and saw modernlove. combine their earliest work into a statement debut offering. Featuring the singles ‘Liquorice’, ‘2 Missed Calls’ and ‘lmk (if you wanna see me)’, they received strong playlist support, landing on New Music Friday UK, Fresh Finds, Alt-Pop and The Pop List amongst others on Spotify, as well as New Music Daily, New in Alternative and Breaking Alternative on Apple Music. They have also received strong radio support with 2FM, BBC R1, BBC R6, BBC Ulster, XS Manchester, Across the Line, and Radio X, as well as featured in The Line of Best Fit, Earmilk, Wonderland, Hot Press, MTV, Under The Radar, Nialler9, Golden Plec, Atwood Magazine, Ones To Watch, Vacancy, and named as the Official Charts’ Ones to Watch’, alongside The Irish Times’ 15 fine Irish Music Acts to Listen to in 2022. Live sessions with BBC Introducing and Seconds Away with Gemma Bradley have also helped to cement modernlove.’s position as one of the most exciting up-and-coming acts in the UK.

Like their name suggests, modernlove. explore the complexities of the modern lives of twenty-somethings. Even though their lives are still complicated, Barry, Cian, Danny and Graham of Drogheda have already nailed their sound; they deliver polished, indie-pop with a glossy ’90s sheen and intricate details.



Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login