Skip to main content

Keelan McGrath Wins 2018 Seán Ó Riada Gold Medal

February 6, 2018

Accordion player Keelan McGrath has become the youngest ever winner of the IMRO sponsored Seán Ó Riada Gold Medal competition.

The 16 year old, from from Borrisokane in Tipperary, competed against 15 other finalists in a concert broadcast live on RTÉ Ráidió na Gaeltachta and was judged by musicians Noel Hill, Charlie Harris and  Mick Mulcahy.

The annual competition was established by musician and broadcaster Peadar Ó Riada, to focus on different traditional music instruments. Previous winners include fiddle players Aoife Ní Bhriain and Darragh Curtin, harpers Oisín Morrison and Úna Ní Fhlannagáin, uilleann pipers Tiarnán Ó Duinnchinn and Éanna Ó Cróinín, flute player Seán Gavin and concertina player Cormac Begley.

McGrath has also won the All-Ireland Fleadh Cheoil two years in a row and won the Under 18 title in his first year to compete in the category.

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login