Skip to main content

Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin and Ultan O’Brien Release New Video ‘All Our Lonely Ghosts’

November 3, 2020

Dublin-based with Clare and Connemara connections, Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin and Ultan O’Brien have been playing together for many years in bands, ahead of the release of their new duo project this Thursday, ‘Solas An Lae’, they share a harrowing song from the album:

‘All Our Lonely Ghosts’ is a dark song. It charts the treatment of women, children and those who have been silenced in Irish society over the decades. Where Catholic Ireland locked people in Church-run institutions in days gone by, modern-day neoliberal Ireland puts them in family hubs, direct provision centres, or leaves them to roam the streets of our cities and towns.

“In recent weeks, we have seen those in power redouble their efforts to bury a shameful past – a past that could rock the foundations of the current status quo if it is unearthed in its entirety.

While the song is bleak, we see hope – in the courage of the survivors who are campaigning for justice and in the movements that are fighting for a better world.” – Eoghan & Ultan.

‘All Our Lonely Ghosts’ was recorded and produced by Nick Turner of Watercolour Music, the video is by Ruth Clinto. Lyrics written by Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin – Music & Ciarán O’Rourke, and the track was arranged by Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin & Ultan O’Brien.

The human voice and the fiddle are often thought of as musical cousins. ‘Solas an Lae’ (The Light of the Day), Eoghan and Ultan’s debut offering, will be a compelling exploration of that relationship, creating a unique dialogue that blends raw, rugged earth with the ethereal otherworld. It is due for release Thursday 5th November, via the Scottish label Watercolour Music.

In ‘Solas an Lae’, bouncing songs and strings off one another, Eoghan and Ultan have created a duo album that emerges viscerally from the sean-nós roots of upbringing to blossom into two of the most articulate Irish musical voices on the scene today.

‘Solas an Lae’ (The Light of the Day) is the debut album from Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin and Ultan O’Brien due for release on November 5th 2020,  via Watercolour Music. Pre-order the digital album or vinyl on Bandcamp:

Join Eoghan and Ultan for their Live Stream Album Launch Show via Facebook Live, Thursday 5th November, 8.30pm-10pm

Twitter: Eoghan Ultan

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login