• Home
  • News
  • News
  • Clare Sands announces new self-titled album + shares new song ‘Sail On’

Clare Sands announces new self-titled album + shares new song ‘Sail On’

June 22, 2022

Following on from the release of her critically acclaimed EP ‘Tírdhreacha Agus Fuaimdhreacha’ (Landscapes & Soundscapes) and smashing subsequent single ‘Awe na Mná’; sixth generation fiddler, bilingual singer & multi-instrumentalist Clare Sands announces her self-titled album and shares her new song, ‘Sail On’.

‘Sail On’ was written in the Connemara Gaeltacht, the West of Ireland, after Clare relocated there in March 2020. She describes the song as a sensual and passionate outpouring of the heart, that speaks one truth – ’ní neart go cur le chéile.’

Recorded between West Cork and West Galway, ‘Sail On’ features pulsating guitar and rousing strings arranged/performed by Sands, harmonies from sister Lainey Sands, Aisling Urwin’s melodious harp, and percussion that rolls in like the waves – all combining to create that unique driving ‘Folk Fiunniúil’ sound.

“I wanted to release ‘Sail On’ during Pride, to celebrate the love that people share for each other, and to celebrate the freedom that we should all strive towards in our society – that people should be allowed to be exactly who they want to be. ‘Ní neart go cur le chéile’ – No matter creed, culture, colour, if we don’t all work together there is no hope; ‘there is no strength without unity’.”

Taking inspiration from Tadhg Ó Ciardha’s painting – Mná Aránn (Aran Women) – which depicts two women in traditional Aran Island dress embracing, Clare Sands and long-time collaborator ​​Liadain Ní Bhraonáin invited four couples to join them in celebrating their love. Liadain recalls “Shooting across four sea-side locations, we asked the couples to remember their first embrace and all they have been through together since. These encounters are woven between underwater scenes of intertwined lovers and home video footage from Connemara recorded during the spring and summer of 2020/21.”

Clare’s upcoming self-titled album, due for release in late September, explores tradition, the sea, and the power of women through the dark and light, love and loss, and the rise and fall. Written & recorded over two years along the West coast from Mizen to Malin, Clare found a path where the Irish and English language, traditional, folk, and contemporary music meet. Clare’s distinctive melodies, pulsating rhythms and powerful voice are interwoven with spoken word guests Manchán Magan, Bernadette Devlin McAliskey, Fiachna Ó Braonáin & Tommy Sands, and musical guests Aisling Urwin, Steve Cooney & Susan O’Neill.

“This Fearless Folk album is for the young and the old, brave and the bold. Join me in this celebration of fearlessness, resilience, love and hope. Bígí liom.”

Stream / buy ‘Sail On’ by Clare Sands: https://presave.io/t/claresands

Sign up to Clare’s newsletter to be the first to hear about about her album journey: https://tinyurl.com/ClareSandsNewsletter

After electric live performances at Féile na Gealaí, Body & Soul and Galway Folk Festival Clare will continue her summer tour this week with “Live at the Hall” in Lisdoonvarna and Glastonbury Festival.


  • June 23rd – w/ Brian Finnegan & The Fiddle Case, Co. Clare
  • 24th June – Glastonbury Festival w/Hothouse Flowers
  • 30th June – 3rd July – Germany Tour
  • 30th July – The Stables Live w/Hothouse Flowers, Damien Dempsey, Moxie, Clare Sands and more…
  • 31st July – All Together Now
  • 18th-21st August – Milwaukee Irish Fest, USA

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareSandsCeol

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/claresandsceol/



Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login