Ryan J Announced as Winner of IMRO Christie Hennessy Song Contest

November 5, 2019

Singer-songwriter Ryan J was  crowned the winner of the 9th annual IMRO Christie Hennessy Song Contest with his song ‘Timebomb’.

The live final took place on Saturday, 2nd November at The Ashe Hotel, Tralee, with a special guest performance from singer-songwriter Mundy. Ten finalists were selected from just under 300 entries from across Ireland and beyond to perform their original song in front of a live audience and panel of expert judges.

Speaking at the announcement of the winner Ryan said: “I can’t believe this happened, I’m over the moon! I had everything packed away so this was unexpected. Well done to everybody who came and performed, the talent was amazing. Thank you to IMRO and all involved.

Ryan J was presented with a cheque for €1,000, courtesy of IMRO and CARA Credit Union. For the first time in the contest’s history, two finalists were named in second place, Nnic with ‘The Place’ and Ivan Nicolas with ‘Sicily’. Both received €300 as worthy runner-up prize.

The competition, which is a tribute to one of Tralee’s most famous sons, received almost 300 entries from across Ireland and beyond. Now in its ninth year, the competition has grown in stature over the years to become one of Ireland’s leading song competitions and continues to attract a high calibre of songwriters from Ireland and overseas, covering a broad range of musical genres. Previous winners have included Paul McDonnell, Dave Molloy, Alan Kavanagh, Enda Reilly/Christine Deady, Míde Houlihan & Katie O’Connor, Curtis Walsh and Gemma Bradley.




Photo: Joe Hanley

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login