• Home
  • News
  • Featured Articles
  • RTÉ Choice Music Prize – one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar – announces key dates for 2018

RTÉ Choice Music Prize – one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar – announces key dates for 2018

November 14, 2017

The shortlist for this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2017, in association with IMRO & IRMA, will be announced on Wednesday 10th January 2018.

The winning album will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 8th March 2018. The event will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four hour extended programme from 7-11pm and on RTÉ2 TV as part of a special RTÉ Choice Music Prize programme, approximately one week later.

2016 nominees All Tvvins (album) and Soulé (song) joined Tracy Clifford on 2FM today for the announcement.

“2017 has been an incredible year for Irish music. A wealth of emerging talent have made serious inroads in various international territories and in so doing reaching new audiences every step of the way. Each year, the RTE Choice Music Prize recognises and champions some of our finest songwriters and IMRO is delighted to continue its longstanding association with this prestigious music prize”Victor Finn, IMRO Chief Executive.

Dan Healy, Head of RTÉ 2FM, said, “After a really exciting first year, everyone in 2FM is absolutely up for this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize which gives us yet another opportunity right across RTÉ to shine a spotlight like no one else on the very best in Irish music. Our all-Irish music days, which we introduced to celebrate last year’s partnership, have become one of the most popular things we do on the station. Here’s to another great year for Irish artists and for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize on 2FM.”

The 13th annual RTÉ Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate and acknowledge the best in Irish recorded music. The prize has become one of the music industry highlights of since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of twelve Irish music media professionals and industry experts.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award.

RAAP, Culture Ireland & Golden Discs are also official project partners. Culture Ireland will fund the attendance of influential overseas Industry executives to attend the RTE Choice Music Prize Live Event on March 8th while Golden Discs will feature special stands showcasing the RTE Choice Music Prize nominees across their stores nationwide.

The Choice Music Prize website has published a list of Irish albums released to date in 2017. This list can be viewed and updated by logging onto http://www.choicemusicprize.ie

RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of The Year 2017
The shortlist for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of The Year 2017 will be announced on Wednesday 31st January 2018. A special event featuring exclusive performances from both Album of the Year and Song of the Year nominees will be held in Dublin’s Tramline venue that evening.

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event will go on sale from all Ticketmaster outlets and from http://www.ticketmaster.ie on Friday 17th November priced €28.00 including booking fee.

Past recipients:

Album of the Year
2005 Julie Feeney – 13 Songs (Julie Feeney)
2006 The Divine Comedy – Victory for the Comic Muse (Parlophone)
2007 Super Extra Bonus Party – Super Extra Bonus Party (Alphabet Set)
2008 Jape – Ritual (Co-op Records)
2009 Adrian Crowley – Season of the Sparks (Chemikal Underground)
2010 Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (Kitsune)
2011 Jape – Ocean of Frequency (Music Is For Losers)
2012 Delorentos – Little Sparks (Delo Records)
2013 Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)
2014 The Gloaming – The Gloaming (Real World)
2015 Soak – Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)
2016 Rusangano Family – Let The Dead Bury The Dead (Self Released)

Song of the Year
2011 Royseven – We Should Be Lovers (Warner)
2012 Gavin James – Say Hello (Believe)
2013 The Original Rudeboys – Never Gonna Walk Away (Rubyworks)
2014 The Script – Superheroes (Sony Music)
2015 Gavin James – Bitter Pill (Warner Music)
2016 Picture This – Take My Hand (Warner Music)


Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login