• Home
  • News
  • News
  • New Single from Jim McHugh ‘Can’t Feel Anymore’

New Single from Jim McHugh ‘Can’t Feel Anymore’

August 23, 2022

Jim McHugh’s new single ‘Can’t Feel Anymore’ is a humorous ode to social media influencers. In a rocky punk anthemic vibe, it’s directed towards an afflicted bunch, some with their ‘pumped up lips’.

This is the second single from Jim’s upcoming fourth album ‘I Whisper to the Dawn’.

‘Can’t Feel Anymore’ was recorded, produced and mixed by Alex Borwick (Niamh Reagan, James Vincent McMorrow) at Transmission Rooms Studios, Drumlish, Longford and The Stables Studio, Castleblayney, Monaghan. It was mastered by Fergal Davis (Sinéad O’Connor/Muse).

‘Can’t Feel Anymore’ features Jim McHugh on Vocals/Backing Vocals, Electric Guitar, Paul McCabe on Bass/ Backing Vocals, Paul Sherry on Electric Guitar, James ‘Butch’ McNeill on Drums, Alex Borwick on Trombone and Ronan Morgan on Backing Vocals..

‘Can’t Feel Anymore’ will be available on all digital formats for streaming/download.

From the Farney drumlins of Co. Monaghan, Ireland, multi-instrumentalist Jim McHugh brings a new edge to the folk tradition, blending traditional and indie styles with up-tempo beats. In 2017 he drew upon his past and recent musical experiences to record an album of new songs entitled ‘Noise Machine’, nicely summed up by Pete Whalley as ‘Indie folk-driven rock that has a vibrant beating heart’.

Jim’s second album ‘My Nuclear Radio’ followed in 2019.  This 11 track album included the singles Avenue Road, Marjorie, Everything’s Cool and My Mandalay and was recorded, produced and mastered in Ben Reel’s studio in South Armagh. My Mandalay featured on the ‘RTÉ RADIO 1 recommends’ playlist in Nov/Dec 2019, and was the ‘LMFM All Out Local Song Choice’ for March 2019.  Single Everything’s Cool was Roddie Cleere’s ‘Song of the Week’ on KCLR in August 2018 while Avenue Road and Marjorie were widely played at home and abroad.

In 2020, Jim released ‘Should Have Lied’ which was premiered by Hotpress Magazine and received multiple airplay nationally and internationally.

In 2021, Jim released ‘Pretending To Wake Up’ and featured singles ‘Dave’, ‘Hey Jimbo’ and ‘Her Love’. Jim’s songs have been premiered by Hotpress and received national and international radio play.





Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login