Skip to main content

Luke Thomas and The Swing Cats Release ‘Live In Dublin’

April 14, 2021

‘Luke Thomas and The Swing Cats – Live In Dublin’, is being released on Friday April 16th exclusively online via Golden Discs (dot) IE. The lead track from the album; Luke and the band’s beautiful live version of ‘Mr. Bojangles’.

To coincide with the release of ‘Live In Dublin’, Luke Thomas and The Swing Cats is giving one lucky (over 18) fan the chance to win ‘Live in Dublin’, Live in his/her home (when it is Covid safe to do so). Luke and some of the band will play live in the winner’s home/garden! Luke will be announcing details for the competition across the band’s social platforms so fans should keep their eyes peeled for details on how to enter!

The band’s last album, ‘Dance With Me’, went straight to No 1 in the Independent Irish album chart just over three years ago against the back drop of two sell-out Dublin shows in the space of six months of each other; The National Concert Hall (May 2017) and The Olympia Theatre (Oct 2017) together with numerous regional sell-out shows.

The band’s live shows in 2017 were the inspiration behind Luke Thomas and The Swing Cats independently recording their own live TV special the following spring, a television special picked up for broadcast by Virgin Media Television the same year.

Playing live is what Luke Thomas and The Swing Cats do, it is the band’s hobby and job combined. Releasing a live album after living through more than 365 days without doing a single live show carries an obvious irony, however, this album’s release is by way of a nod to the industry Luke Thomas and The Swing Cats love, the industry which provides them with their livelihood. Luke says; “We were looking at releasing a live album in 2020, however, Covid hit the world and plans had to be put on hold. Once we got over the shell shock of all our shows needing to be cancelled due to lockdown, we gathered our thoughts and decided the album needed to proceed regardless. He continued, it really was a situation of we needing to do this with an even greater sense of importance now than before and we are thrilled we took this step.”

The production and release of ‘Live In Dublin’, is partly funded by The Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sports and Media, to whom the band are very grateful.

‘Live In Dublin’, the track listing

1. What’d I Say

2. Sing Sing Sing

3. Putting’ On The Ritz / It Don’t Mean A Thing

4. Whole Lotta Shaken Going On

5. I’m In The Mood For Love (feat. Gemma Sugrue)

6. Mr. Bojangles

7. Swing Cats Medley

8. King Of The Swingers (feat. Paddy Cole)

9. Dancing In The Moonlight

10. Hit The Road Jack

11. New York New York

Insta. LukeThomasandTheSwingCats | FB. theswingcats T. @theswingcats |

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login