Kodaline Share Official Video for ‘This Must Be Christmas’

November 25, 2020

After the storming success of their recently released studio album ‘One Day At A Time’, which has now been streamed more than 84 million times and seen them garner another 10 million monthly Spotify listeners, Kodaline have now unveiled the official video for their festive offering ‘This Must Be Christmas’.

Originally released on the same day as the deluxe edition of their latest album, which features a collaboration with Gabrielle Aplinon their track ‘Everyone Changes’, two covers – ‘Teenage Kicks’ and ‘The Rare Auld Times’, and of course the previously released singles ‘Wherever You Are’, ‘Sometimes’, ‘Saving Grace’and ‘Say Something’; the new video for ‘This Must Be Christmas’ sees the band deliver a heartfelt tale for the festive season.

Marking their very first Christmas single, the new visuals sees them blend the magical world of Santa’s Workshop with a sombre message about the difficulties many are facing after the year we have all had.

Speaking about the new video, director Lee Holmes said, “The track is essentially about drowning your sorrows in a pub at Christmas and I loved how the band had put their own stamp on the traditional Christmas song. So for the video I wanted to create that Christmas feel but with a twist, playing on the idea that Santa’s elves are like seasonal workers who live amongst normal people during the year, until Christmas comes. And in these uncertain times it makes sense that their job security is in the balance, just like the rest of us. Kodaline have such a great track record for music videos so it was a privilege to get to work with them and create a video for their alternative Christmas vision.

The band have also released the deluxe version of ‘One Day At A Time’ on 20th November both physically and digitally, making it the first opportunity for fans to own the record in a physical format. Stream the new album HERE.

In August this year, Kodaline performed their smash-hit album ‘In A Perfect World’ back to back for the first time since its recording, and will be heading back to the stage with the showcase live across the UK and Ireland in 2021. Tickets on sale now from https://kodaline.com/live/

‘One Day At A Time’ is the band’s fourth album, and adds a new chapter to a career that has already encompassed three #1 albums in Ireland, two Top 5 albums in the UK, and more than a billion streams at Spotify.

Kodaline approached the album with a streamlined process that took them back to their roots. The majority of the sessions revolved around the four band members alone in their modest recording space in Dublin, with bassist Jason Boland leading the production side of things.

The band’s primary objective was to focus on the emotion that has informed many Kodaline fan favourites. As we’ve seen from the two recent singles, they’re playing to their strengths: insistent melodies and captivating hooks exploring stories that are revealing, unguarded and immediately relatable.

The main thing this time was to capture those emotions through everything,” says frontman Steve Garrigan. “We also wanted to use a lot of harmonies and play to our strengths.”

In 2019, Kodaline played some of the biggest shows of their career. At home in Dublin they sold-out two huge outdoor shows at St. Anne’s Park, while a ten-date UK tour culminated with a packed show at London’s historic Roundhouse. Further afield, they hit festivals including Lollapalooza, Benicàssim and Open’er before becoming the first Irish band to headline the massive NH7 Weekender in Pune, India. Their extensive touring throughout Asia also included a headline set at Monsoon Music Festival in Vietnam plus dates in China, Japan, South Korea, the Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Taiwan and Singapore.

Kodaline Live dates:


17 –      Oxford – Academy
18 –      Cambridge – Corn Exchange
19 –      Bexhill – De La Warr Pavilion
21-       Birmingham – Academy
22 –      Nottingham – Rock City
23 –      Manchester – Albert Hall
25 –      Newcastle  – Academy
26 –      Glasgow – The Barrowland Ballroom
27 –      Leeds – Academy 
29 –      Norwich – UEA
30 –      Bristol – Academy


1 –        Southampton – Guildhall
2 –        London – Shepherd’s Bush Empire
27 –      Dublin – Malahide Castle 


2 –        Lytham Festival with Snow Patrol 


20 –      Belfast Custom House Square

‘One Day At A Time’ tracklist

1.     ‘Wherever You Are’
2.     ‘Sometimes’
3.     ‘Saving Grace’
4.     ‘Say Something’
5.     ‘The Evening’   
6.     ‘Spend It With You’
7.     ‘Care’
8.     ‘Heart Open’  
9.     ‘Everyone Changes’  
10.  ‘In The End’
11.  ‘This must be Christmas’ 
12.   ‘Everyone Changes’ featuring Gabrielle Aplin 
13.  ‘The Rare Auld Times’ 
14.  ‘Teenage Kicks’ 

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login