Inhaler Release their Debut Album ‘It Won’t Always Be Like This’

July 9, 2021

Inhaler release their highly-anticipated debut album ‘It Won’t Always Be Like This’ today, July 9th through Polydor. The Irish quartet are one of the most exciting bands to emerge over the past few years and ‘It Won’t Always Be Like This’ lives up to their thrilling potential. Singer and guitarist Eli Hewson, bassist Robert Keating, guitarist Josh Jenkinson and drummer Ryan McMahon have made a record that captures their evolution from exciting upstarts to refined songsmiths. It takes in a dazzling array of sonic textures, where huge, hooky choruses perfectly meld with intricate, dynamic instrumentation.

A Covid-enforced delay encouraged the four-piece to find new levels as a band, opening up both their sound and their lyrical themes. Songs about meeting girls turned into reflections on society and how to get through tough periods. “We started writing this when we were teenagers and now we’re adults,” says Keating. “I wanted the songs to feel positive,” adds Hewson. “Because… it won’t always be like this.

The album shares its title with one of the group’s early singles – a storming, exhilarating singalong of the sort that has become their calling card. But its meaning has changed for the band over the past year, becoming something more hopeful in uncertain times. “There’s a sense of optimism on this album and the song ‘It Won’t Always Be Like This’ is the main catalyst for that,” says Hewson. “We kept coming back to that title.”

Recorded with long-term collaborator and producer Antony Genn at London’s Narcissus Studios, it’s a coming-of-age record about losing yourself and finding yourself again, trying to make sense of the world when the world doesn’t make much sense. It charts a path of sonic exploration, from the sweeping urgency of the title track and ‘My Honest Face’ to the lush synth-pop of ‘Slide Out The Window’ to the lithe, space-y grooves of ‘A Night On The Floor’. It is a debut of depth and colour.

Inhaler have made all their early promise count. ‘It Won’t Always Be Like This’ is a triumph.

Inhaler will play an 18-date tour of the UK & Ireland later this year. Full run of dates is listed below:

September/October 2021

Tues 28th Sept Sheffield Octagon

Weds 29th Sept Leeds 02 Academy

Fri 1st Oct Newcastle 02 Academy

Sat 2nd Oct Birmingham 02 Institute 1

Sun 3rd Oct Bristol 02 Academy 1

Tues 5th Oct Nottingham Rock City

Wed 6th Oct London 02 Forum Kentish Town

Thu 7th Oct Norwich The Nick Rayns LCR, UEA

Sat 9th Oct Liverpool Uni, The Mountford Hall

Sun 10th Oct Glasgow Barrowland

Tues 12th Oct Manchester 02 Ritz

December 2021

**Sat 11th Dec – Dublin, The Workmans Club**

Tue 14 Dec – Belfast, Limelight 1

Wed 15 Dec – Limerick, Dolan’s Warehouse

Thu 16 Dec – Cork, Cyprus Avenue

Fri 17 Dec – Killarney, INEC Acoustic Club

Sun 19 Dec – Dublin, Academy  

Mon 20 Dec – Dublin, Academy

Tue 21 Dec – Dublin, Academy

Wed 22 Dec – Dublin, Academy

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login