• Home
  • News
  • News
  • Debut Album from BigSpoon, The Return of the Prodigal Son

Debut Album from BigSpoon, The Return of the Prodigal Son

July 1, 2022

Diatribe Records proudly presents The Return of the Prodigal Son, the debut album by electronic improv quartet BigSpoon.

Led by saxophonist Chris Engel, the band’s enveloping sound mixes the creative energies of Matthew Jacobson (Drums), Shane O’Donovan (Electronics) & Darragh O’Kelly (Synths + Keys). BigSpoon’s musical offering is a crystallization of leader Chris Engel’s musical journey, which brings all of his musical impulses and influences to bear in the company of some of Ireland’s leading improvisers and electro-sonic explorers. They create a sound world designed to engross both the artist and the audience in a shared immersive musical experience. With influences ranging from Jaga Jazzist to Weather Report, this is visceral and mesmerising 21st century jazz with organic heart and electronic soul.

Having developed and honed their sound through European festival performances including 12 Points (Aarhus, Denmark), Down With Jazz (Dublin, Ireland) and Bray Jazz, the recording of The Return of the Prodigal Son lays down a strong marker for BigSpoon’s place in the current European jazz scene.

The album is being released as a digital download and limited edition hoodie with QR code, available for pre-order now from https://diatribe.ie/the-return-of-the-prodigal-son/.

The album will be launched as a performance work at New Music Dublin 2022 as part of an 8 album launch series by Diatribe Records supported by the Arts Council of Ireland / An Chomhairle Ealaíon.

South African saxophonist and adopted Irishman Chris Engel has cultivated a successful career in jazz and improvised music throughout Europe with his chameleon-like musical talents; adept in small and large ensembles, free improv, contemporary jazz, and latterly electronic music. His work has taken him to international audiences performing alongside renowned musicians (Joe McBride, Gerald Veasley, Kenny Blake, Theo Bleckmann, John O’Gallagher and Nils Wogram).

For more information visit: www.diatribe.ie

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login