Skip to main content

Damian O’Neill (The Undertones, That Petrol Emotion, The Everlasting Yeah) announces new album ‘An Crann’

November 10, 2022

The long-awaited third solo album from multi-instrumentalist Damian O’Neill (The Undertones, That Petrol Emotion, The Everlasting Yeah) is an exquisitely inventive collection of largely instrumental tracks, mixed by veteran producer Paul Tipler (Stereolab, Placebo, Julian Cope, House Of Love). The title “An Crann” is Irish for “The Tree”, a symbol of growth and inspiration. As Damian himself explains…”If someone listened to this record without knowing anything about me, they’d probably never guess that I started life in a punk band. I unashamedly wanted to present instrumental pieces that are emotional, evocative and personal and offer to the listener textures and layers of music that can be melodic, childlike and even melancholic at times. There’s obviously Irish folk traditional influences as well as French, Japanese, American and British. I’m playing virtually all the instruments myself, with added percussion on a couple of songs. It was recorded mainly at home over the last couple of years in the loft of our house on a laptop with an array of instruments such as electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin, bass, organ, vibraphone, toy marimba and glockenspiel, melodica, mouth organ, squeezebox, kalimba, bells and various percussion and human voices”.

The wonderfully evocative video for “Malin Head Imminent”, the focus track from the album, was directed by visual artist Marry Waterson.

Damian describes the composition as a “reference to memories of childhood holidays in Donegal”.

Track Listing

  1. Más O Menos
  2. Malin Head Imminent
  3. Tune for the Derry Ones
  4. A Quare Visitation (Belfast ’65)
  5. Lament for Loughlinisland
  6. La Tengo
  7. Manannán mac Lir
  8. New Loft Trio
  9. Waltz (Interlude)
  10. We Want The Wesleys
  11. Round and Round

Damian O’Neill releases ‘An Crann’ on 25th November via Dimple Discs.

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login