Skip to main content

Stereotype to Release Debut Single ‘Boy in the Streets’

September 28, 2021

Stereotype is a Dublin 5-piece that formed in December 2018.

The band is made up of Ray Gilligan (singer/songwriter), Anthony Healy (guitar), Gavin Healy (Bass), Darren Bolger (Keyboards), Tony Brereton (drums). The band CV reads an impressive list; Lord John White, Cherry Brogues, Daddy’s Little Princess, Sack, The Josephs, Razorlove, The Ground Will Shake…

The first gig was a sell-out show in Dublin’s Grand Social. This was followed by supports to Corduroy and Say Sue Me. More gigs in the Underground and the Maypole Festival were to follow with a view to showcasing new songs.

The band quickly gained a reputation as a skin-tight live outfit, with a set list full of singles.

Plans to intensify live shows in 2020 to finance the album before the end of the year were cut short due to Covid.

This gave the band time to reflect, concentrate on new material with some rewriting and arranging to bring Stereotype to the point where the band now has a collection of songs in that classic guitar-driven Pop tradition, that it is completely confident in releasing as an album, with that Stereotype sound.

The debut single ‘Boy in the Streets’ is available to stream/download from 8th October 2021, and an album to follow early 2022, with possibly another single release on vinyl in between.


Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login