Skip to main content

Winners revealed for IMRO Radio Awards, celebrating their 21st birthday this year

October 1, 2021

Earlier this evening, the IMRO Radio Awards ceremony was held virtually and hosted by comedian and broadcaster Dermot Whelan, where the winners for the 2021 event were revealed. The 2021 Awards saw the largest ever number of entries, demonstrating the wide range of the broadcasting sector covering news, music, current affairs and entertainment. Over 2,000 people in the radio industry across the whole island of Ireland logged on to watch the ceremony of which an Award is a prized accolade to take home. At the start of the evening the Hall of Fame inductees for this year – Declan Meehan, George Hamilton, Patricia Messinger and Stephen Clements RIP were recognised.

The special award for Outstanding Achievement was presented to Learning Waves, the training provider for the independent commercial radio sector in Ireland.

The big three awards for the evening were won by:

Local Station of the Year – WLR FM – Third year in a row
Music Station of the Year – Spin 1038
Full Service Station of the Year – BBC Radio Ulster

Chair of the IMRO Radio Awards committee, Chris Doyle, who spoke at the Awards said “2021 is the biggest year on record for entries, so thank you very much to everyone who entered, it is great to see such enthusiasm and passion for the content being produced across the island. Radio continues to show its power, flexibility and importance to the Irish people this year and while we continue to keep listeners informed and educated, it is brilliant coming out of the pandemic to hear how we entertain and lift listeners lives.”

Eleanor McEvoy, IMRO Chairperson said “On behalf of IMRO, I would like to give my heartfelt congratulations to the winners of this year’s IMRO Radio Awards. We saw over the course of the pandemic how much we relied on radio to bring us immediately up to speed with what was happening in a world that to many felt frightening and isolating. As we were told to separate from family and friends, radio served to connect us. The winners of these awards have been chosen because of their excellence in broadcasting, and I would like to say a profound thanks to them for their service to radio in Ireland.”

BAI Deputy Chief Executive, Celene Craig, commented “The BAI is delighted to support the IMRO Radio Awards again this year. The annual Awards illustrate the range of talent working in the radio sector, and I would like to congratulate all the nominees and winners tonight. This event also serves to highlight and acknowledge the dedication of those working in radio to deliver, on a daily basis, diverse and high quality programming for audiences, especially in such a difficult year. Our thanks and congratulations to all involved in the delivery of the awards tonight.”

Full List of Winners >>>


Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login