Irish Post Music Award Winners

June 11, 2018

The inaugural Irish Post Music Awards took place at the INEC Killarney on Thursday 9th June, boasting 10 live performances, nine award presentations and one incredible night for Irish music.

The night’s award winners included global superstar Chris de Burgh, who scooped the Lifetime Award in the Music Industry gong, Country music favourite Cliona Hagan, who took the Best Irish Country Act award, and Dublin rock band The Coronas, who won the Best Irish Pop/Rock Act award.

Hosted by Síle Seoige and Malachi Cush, the event featured 90 minutes of live music and entertainment, including electric performances by music legend and Lifetime Achievement Award-winner Phil Coulter, The Blizzards, The High Kings, Una Healy, Ryan McMullen and Beoga – fresh from supporting Ed Sheeran on his recent Irish tour.

The full list of award winners:

Best Irish Indie Act
Winner: The Academic

Best Irish Country Act
Winner: Cliona Hagan

Best Irish Folk Act
Winner: Aoife Scott

Outstanding Contribution to Music in Ireland through the Medium of Radio or Television
Winner: Roddie Cleere

Best Irish Pop/Rock Act
Winner: The Coronas

Lifetime Award in the Music Industry
Winner: Chris de Burgh

Best Irish Single
Winner: Zali – Girls Like Us

Best Irish Album
Winner: Picture This

Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Phil Coulter

The Irish Post Music Awards were broadcast live on TG4 and on TG4 Player and the Irish Post Facebook page.

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login