For Those I Love win the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2021

March 4, 2022

For Those I Love has been announced as the winner of the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2021 for the album For Those I Love (September Recordings). Noel Hogan, from The Cranberries, made the announcement in Vicar St after the judging panel, made up of Irish music media professionals and chaired by Jim Carroll, met up this evening to decide on the winning album.

For Those I Love received a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA), as well as a specially-commissioned award.

The event, hosted by Tracy Clifford, took place live in Vicar St and on RTÉ2FM with exclusive performances from eight of the nominated artists.

Dermot Kennedy has been voted the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year for his song ‘Better Days’. The announcement was made earlier today by The Script’s, Danny O’Donoghue on the Tracy Clifford Show on RTÉ 2FM and live streamed on RTÉ Player. ‘Better Days’ by Dermot Kennedy was selected from a shortlist of 10 songs by public vote (Ireland only), via the RTÉ 2FM and Choice Music Prize websites. Fans were given the chance to get behind their favourite Irish song of 2021 until midnight on Sunday 27th February.

RTÉ2 will broadcast a one-hour TV programme of the RTÉ Choice Music Prize, featuring performances from the eight acts, along with interviews by Bláthnaid Treacy, on Sunday March 13th at 11pm.

The 2021 album shortlist:

Bicep – Isles (Ninja Tune)
Mick Flannery & Susan O’Neill – In the Game (Rosaleen Records / Rosa Productions)
For Those I Love – For Those I Love (September Recordings)
Orla Gartland – Woman on the Internet (New Friends Music)
HousePlants – Dry Goods (Bone China Records)
Kojaque – Town’s Dead (Soft Boy Records)
Elaine Mai – Home (Elaine Mai)
Saint Sister – Where I Should End (Saint Sister)
Soda Blonde – Small Talk (Velveteen Records)
Villagers – Fever Dreams (Domino)

Photos by Graham Keogh

Keep up to date with IMRO news and events

Please select login